Aubergine, Mint & Chilli Burgers

Aubergine, Mint and Chilli Burgers

I have been meaning to make some kind of Aubergine burger for a while. It seemed to me that it was the kind of vegetable that would have the right consistency for being shaped into patties. After a bit of looking I found this recipe by Able & Cole.

For those of you who aren’t aware of Able & Cole, they are an organic food delivery service in the UK. My housemates got a very good looking veg box from them a few months ago, and with it was a recipe book with ideas on how to use all the vegetables, including some we’d never heard of before. They’ve been raving about the recipes for ages so I thought it was time I gave one a go, and I have to say these burgers are very good. I grilled mine, but they would also do very well on the BBQ – especially as it is apparently going to be 31° tomorrow (although all my burgers will definitely be meat this weekend!)

aubergine, mint and chilli burger recipe

How to do it:

  • Preheat your oven to about 200°C or 400°F, or Gas Mark 6.
  • Cut up your Aubergine into small squares and mix with some salt, the finely chopped garlic (I used Very Lazy Garlic, because, well, I am very lazy) , olive oil, and the zest of your half lemon. Add a bit of the lemon juice as well to keep things moist.
  • Make sure it’s well mixed up (get your hands in there) before roasting in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes.
  • Chuck it all in the food processor (I have a hand held one) with the chickpeas until you have a coarse mixture.
  • Add the remaining ingrediants (except the flour) and pulse until everythings mixed up, but still quite chunky. NB. I made my breadcrumbs by grating toast, and also added some black pepper – which wasn’t on the list.
  • Divide the mixture into balls (the original recipe recommends eight, I managed seven) and shape into burgers with well floured hands (I didn’t have any flour and it seemed to work OK).
  • Chill for 20 mins – half an hour to firm them up.
  • Grill or BBQ for 4 – 5 minutes on each side until they are a bit brown, and hot all the way through.

I served mine with some fried haloumi, pitta breads, cherry tomatoes, lettuce and a drizzle of balsamic syrup.

My housemate and boyfriend were very happy!

